top of page

Welcome to LakeWood Shadows


When looking into the different system design modules, I wanted to examine the different platforms for making a consecutive game. I first went to Buildabox which is a designated platform for creating games that have to do with blocks. I found this to be very difficult to follow through and so I went over to my second choice which was Twine. This platform allows the creator to analyze their ideas and creates a story. Within the game, the player gets to make different decisions about how they initially want the story to go. The idealization of being able to choose how their story goes gives the player the freedom to see where there fate leads them. When thinking about my storyline, I wanted my audience to have a thrilling feeling when playing my game. If I am being honest my inspiration for the gory feeling towards my story came from the Netflix show Wednesday.


When watching this film I was able to get into a dark and mysterious feeling when writing the storyline. The baseline of the story takes place in Lakewood Shadows which is a forest where mysterious things happen. 2 characters want to go camping for the weekend in this forest and so they pack a bag filled with either Matches and Tools, Knife, and or a Filtration system for water. The main goal is to make it to the end of the weekend, but the player must watch out for there are certain things that lurking through the forest. The player will then go through a series of questions about the initial item that decided to pack. There is only one right object to pack and that will initially help the player make it out of the forest alive. I wanted the player to not only have fun but to initially think before they act and to never leave anyone behind no matter what which was my initial argument. Those that play my game and like the initially category of survival would benefit from my game. This is all about strategy and the aspect of surviving. Those that don’t like horror or thrill would initially lack from the my game. There is not only mystery but gore within each subcategory, and so they would seemingly not enjoy the initial thrill of this game. When coming up with the initial topic of what I was going to undergo, I wanted the location to be in the woods. I felt this brings a mysterious mystical feeling within it. Adding on to this theme, I wanted there to be two characters, for there are different choices within the categories that tests the players ability to either stay with their partner or leave them. The assumptions seemingly play a big part in one's conscious. One’s ability to either survive on there own or to save their partners life as well is questionable. This game truly analyzes the different decisions that the players conscious depicts through this game. The authority initially is within the players hands, they are able to decide what happens within the game. The community that is brought within my games are those that like horror and survival. This allows each person to find different ways on how to initially beat the game and survive.








bottom of page