top of page

Examining Bogost From a Future Educators Perspective

Picture of a teacher and a student
Picture of a teacher and a student

Within the Education field, there is a systematic structure to becoming a teacher. This structure starts with your first year of college for they throw you into these basic elementary education classes. Saint Bonaventure gives you the option to be a single, double or triple certification which covers, early on, elementary, and or special education. In regard to Ian Bogost descriptive argument toward Procedural Rhetoric, in order to obtain this degree by the end of the 4 years, you must follow different steps. During the first year and the basic education classes, the professors place you into different schools to initially get a feel of working with children. This of course would be a great time to initially change your major if working with children is not for you. For me, I came to Bonaventure with the thought of only pursuing a single certification in Elementary Education. Once you have finished the basic classes which would be EDUC- 101 or SPED-230, you are ready to take more advanced classes in your second semester.

Going into my second semester I was placed in an early education class where we got to learn about infants. I loved learning about it so much that I changed my major to a double certification. The next year was very similar in the aspect of having to take more education classes, but I was able to get my education hours in a different school/environment. In order to initially become a decent educator, you must go through these different classes and education hours to initially get the experience. I loved working with the children and felt that going through a procedural approach helped me realize what I initially wanted to do until the next semester. I was placed into a Special Education class for as an education major in general, you have to be able to have some experience with students that have disabilities. I did the same thing with the other classes and I also shadowed a special education classroom. I fell in love with working with different students that have a disability and so I decided that I should just do the triple certification which covers all 3 fields. Throughout the different classes, the hours that I have obtained, and the knowledge that I have learned I feel that I am equipt to become a teacher by the end of the 4 years.

Ian Bogost talks about creating and designing procedural systems to initially obtain that goal or argument. If I did not endure the classes that I did I would not be doing a triple certification at the movement. This is not it when it comes to becoming a teacher, I have to go through Field Block one and Field Block two. This is where I undergo a series of education classes and also am able to assist in a classroom. This helps represent certain aspects of the major itself for it helps future educators get a feel of what it is going to be like after college. The way that I initially think of Bogost's statements is “climbing up a ladder”. There are certain steps you must take in order to achieve this goal or reach that initial argument that you set. When finishing up Field Block Two, it is now time to take four state certification exams to determine if you are equipped to become a teacher. This covers many areas and initially tests the knowledge that you have learned these past 4 years. This is the final step to becoming a teacher, besides, applying for the job itself. There is a lot of time and work that is put into becoming a teacher. Becoming a teacher correlates with Bogost's Idea for the systematic structure represents how teachers become educators in this world. Future Educators go through multiple steps to initially obtain their certification to teach other children. Bogost mentions “This variety of rhetoric implies an understanding of both the reasons to persuade and the tools available to achieve that end” (Bogost 124). The tools are initially given to you as students at your college, it is initially up to you to put in the time and work to succeed. The system is complex and extremely tiresome for it requires you to put time into the different areas of your major. Without the structure that education majors have, teachers would not be prepared. For comparison, it is just like different laws that are put in place, in order to have a society that functions you need to have a structure that is put into place. Teachers rely on this systemic structure to get to that initial end goal and the ideological standpoints that future educators may have. Different ideologies that educators have are to initially educate future generations. These are our beliefs and the values that we want to accomplish within every lesson plan that we make. Each generation starts off being taught by teachers, this is initially how they grow.

Bogost's discussion helps us think of the different steps that are taken to become future teachers and how we can help grow the knowledge of other generations. There has been a teacher shortage, and so it is up to the generations that are now in college to learn and proceed with the systematic goal which is becoming a teacher. Without teachers, you would not be in the position you are in right now. Educators guided students and initially shape their understanding or perspectives of the world. The system has flaws just like any other procedure that is put in place, but becoming a teacher is a learning experience. Another way to think about Bogost’s perspective is that our education system is wanting future educators to be well prepared and they have different certifications they want in order to be a teacher. You can only get better if you experience and learn from your mistakes. Bogost ties in the logical standpoints of Procedural Rhetoric and what it takes to create that systematic structure in society. Within the context of Bogost, my personal opinion of the education program is that there seems to structure within the program itself. This program requires hard work and a lot of time for there are certain requirements you must fulfil. If I am being honest, I have considered changing my major a couple if times due to the structure of being an education major. I stick with this career path for I love working with children and want to help students. I believe that Saint Bonaventure provides many opportunities for those that are going into the Education field and so I will continue with my goal so that one day I can make a difference in a child life.


bottom of page