top of page

The Significance of Multimedia Apps in Society



This picture represents audio that is used to help one read a book
Picture of a book and headphones to symbolize Audible

Throughout the many resources that are available to society, there are two apps that have helped me stay connected and have guided me through life. One important app that is life-changing for me was Facebook. This digital app has helped not only me but others around the world stay connected. I have a family that is located in Ireland, Australia, and many other places. We have FaceTime but within the time difference, it can be difficult to keep in touch. This app is great because I can keep track of birthdays, posts, and any life updates that happen. I personally like how I am able to see what my family members are doing through there posts. An example would my cousin most recently had a baby and I am currently not in the same state as them. Facebook has let me stay in contact with them and also I can see baby pictures that are posted. This app is very popular and has different resources where you can post and also chat with people around the world. It also allows the user to like and share engaging content with different people. Within the app, I have posted pictures, thoughts, and comments which allows my family or followers to see what is going on in my life. Facebook makes it easier for the user to select any picture they want, edit or even put a caption of their choice. Within this multimodal idea, there are both linguistic and visual modes that are within this app. This is what draws in different audience members in the world. Facebook is not just for personal use but it can also be used for business, school, and also networking. Facebook helps people from all around the world seek inspiration to either grow their companies within this app. Small businesses like Backstage Bakery uses Facebook to broadcast her baking company. This business is owned by Megan Miller who creates different styles of cakes and cupcakes and she also creates Jewelry.



Even if you are not using this digital app, multimodal or digital texts are useful if you want to connect with the outside world. Facebook can also give updates on what's happening in the world, for example, any updates that include politics or weather can appear within the app. I personally know that this has helped me see what is happening outside of college. Facebook allows you to set up your own profile that is public to people. It also allows you to put where you have gone to school and also different workplaces that you have been at. This app of course helps give me a better understanding of what is happening outside of a college dorm.

Within a college campus, students use all different apps to help further their learning. Facebook is not the only app that has helped me, audiobooks are another app that helps students that are having a difficult time with reading. In college, there are a lot of assignments that connect with a plethora of readings. Having a hard time understanding what the storyline is has put a challenge on my college experience. I was diagnosed with a processing disorder which puts a block to understanding what the book actually says. An app called Audible has guided me through reading by listening to the author. Everytime I get an assignment to read a book like Between the World and Me by Ta- Nehishi, I will download the audible book and the author will start reading to me. The best part is, I can pause it, fast forward, change the speed and many more. This has definitely guided my understanding of this multimodal text for it helps guide me on what is happening throughout a novel. All one has to do is open the app and purchase the book that they want to listen to. Audible has definitely changed students like me for it has improved my opinions over books. Within these different technological apps, this has engaged but has also been helpful to people around the world. These are just some examples of different apps that have articulated different elements within their app. I personally love these two apps and they have helped me stay connected and do better while I am in college.




bottom of page