top of page

Spilling the Tea (College Edition) Podcast



Transcript
.docx
Download DOCX • 40KB

When thinking of what I wanted to do for my A/V Project, I wanted to reach out to my audience through my words and or stories. I initially viewed and heard many different ways to do this, but the main direction I wanted to go was a Podcast. When preparing to do this I did not want to do the podcast by myself and so I reached out to my two friends Nik and Jordan. I have known them since I was a freshman in college which would be three almost 4 years ago. I truly would not be the person I am today without their friendship and guidance. They agreed to undergo a podcast with me and so I then prepared a series of questions just in case the conversations did not flow. The next step was to figure out a time and a place to record this. I found this part to be difficult for the recording studios on campus either to have to be rented or you have to know someone that has a microphone. We eventually found a place and a microphone and the Podcast was ready to be made. When undergoing the different conversations I felt comfortable as time went on, especially being with my two friends. Within the different questions, I went into different categories that examined our time here in college, the friendships/relationships we made, our jobs, and what might happen after college. The initial goal that I wanted to obtain was for my audience to see what it is like to be a college student and what one can experience if one goes to college. I feel that when doing the podcast I achieved the initial goal I wanted to obtain for the conversations that were presented told a story and gave insight into what a college student may go through. After recording the podcast, It was time to edit my work which I used iMovie. During the Podcast, there was a moment where we had to pause to move from the original location we were in. With that, we had to pause the audio recordings. When moving to the second location, the surroundings were a lot different from the original room which was small. The second location was a conference room which was huge. To make sure that the audio clips were composed in a consistent way I had to edit the volume of the different clips to make sure that they sound similar. I would have to say that was the most challenging part that I encountered when doing this project. I also wanted to make an instrumental introduction which I took from Pixabay. I then split the clip from where we did the introduction to where we started the conversations. I feel that my audience can hear the different stories that not only me but Jordan and Nik have gone through. I also added another audio clip from a website called Tribe of Noise Pro. Both websites that I used are under fair use and do not apply to any copyright concerns. This music was downloaded and is royalty-free. Each piece of music is distributed by the artist and allows other audience members to download it for free. This was the first ever podcast that I have done, and I am interested in doing other podcasts in the future. I wanted my audience to seek inspiration from not only my stories but others. I would defend my use of using these materials concerning the fair use article if I had others listen to my podcast to see if there is any criticism or commentary that they wanted to add. With the podcast itself, I provided new context towards different topics that I have experienced as a college student. The nature of my work is to seek students whether in college are that are heading into college. This is published on SoundCloud but I would love to upload it to other platforms. Through the four factors, I believe that my work is only for educational purposes which have some parody within it. I found this to be a fun project and I believe that everyone should get some people together to do a podcast. Remember if you do go through a podcast stay true through it and be prepared to change topics if the conversation does not persist.

Introduction: Powerful Beat

Ending: Sunset






bottom of page